Goshen News, Goshen, IN

February 24, 2013

FROM THE SIDELINES: News and notes on upcoming sectionals


GOSHEN — Hoosier Hysteria takes center stage this week with the 103rd annual Indiana high school boys basketball tournament tipping off at the sectional level.

It has been intriguing to watch how the game of basketball, and the greatest state tournament in the nation, have evolved over the years.

Following are a few tidbits to hash over while discussing the tournament with fellow fans this week:

• The 10-second backcourt rule was adopted in 1932 while a jump ball after each goal was eliminated in 1937. The three-second lane rule was adopted in 1941 and the free throw lane was widened to 12 feet in 1955. The game clock, formerly running at all times, was stopped for all violations starting in 1963.

• Goshen is among charter members of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, formed in 1903. Others are Indianapolis Shortridge, Anderson, Alexandria, Bloomington, Eaton, Fairmount, Huntington, Kokomo, Marion, Noblesville, Manchester, Salem, Wabash and Indianapolis Manual.

• This is the golden anniversary for Hank Clason of Goshen being named to the state’s Silver Anniversary team. The 1938 GHS graduate, who at 93 still lives on 13th Street, led the Redskins in scoring three straight years and went on to a career at Northwestern University.

The Redskins of Goshen have reached the “Sweet 16” level three times, but never the “Elite Eight.” GHS lost semistate games to Fishers 18-9 in 1922, Muncie Central 30-28 in 1930 and Fort Wayne North 63-55 in 1969.

• Steve Alford, former IU star and now head coach at New Mexico, scored 57 points for New Castle in a 1983 semistate win over Broad Ripple. He was 25-for-25 at the free-throw line.

• The longest tournament game ever occurred in a 1964 regional with Swayzee outlasting Liberty Center, 65-61, in nine overtimes. One of the more lopsided sectional games happened in 1929 when North Judson outgunned North Bend, 104-1.

• Dennis Tepe of Elkhart became the county’s first Trester Award (mental attitude) recipient in 1956 when Coach Max Bell’s Blue Blazers lost a 54-52 semifinal sizzler to Lafayette.

Two officials worked all three Final Four games on the same day from 1911 to 1917. Three officials then rotated games up until 1951.

— J. Clayton Hughes of Goshen was among the state’s top officials during the 1930s. He worked a memorable regional game between Muncie Central and New Castle in 1932.

— Birch Bayh, grandfather of former Indiana governor and U.S. senator Evan Bayh, was also a noted official for several Final Fours. His last state championship assignment was a game between Logansport and Indianapolis Tech in 1934.

— John Wooden, who would go on to legendary coaching status at UCLA, scored 10 points for Martinsville in the 1927 state championship game as the Artesians edged Muncie Central 26-23.

Years ending with the numeral ‘3’ have a special significance for several area high school boys basketball programs.

— In 1933, the Wakarusa Indians won the Elkhart sectional and then topped South Bend Riley 29-23 and Winamac 31-21 for regional honors. Waky then lost a semistate game to Greencastle, 47-25. Wilmer Wine coached the Purple and Gold with Charlie Hughes, Carroll Bontrager, Robert Hahn, Russell Blosser, Carl Eby and Howard Harrington the top players.

— In 1963, the Goshen Redskins won a sectional title at Elkhart with the “Fab Five” of Ron Miller, Randy Saal, Fred Hostetler, Doug Smith and John Corporon. Coach Art Cosgrove’s Redskins were 24-2 and ranked No. 5 in the state.

— In 1973, the Westview Warriors captured their first-ever sectional crown at East Noble in Kendallville. Denny Foster was the WHS coach and all-time Warrior scoring leader Gary Yoder the star player. Chuck Haarer, Ron Kauffman, Brad Miller, Gary Wright and Don Waldron were other top performers for the 21-3 Warriors who lost a Fort Wayne regional finale to Northrop, 64-63.

— In 1983, Fairfield won its third East Noble sectional title. Glenn Swanson coached the Falcons with Dave Thwaits, Joe Goeglein, Tony Smoker, Tad Groff and Gary Wallace the top five scorers. FHS lost an Elkhart regional heartbreaker to Warsaw, 63-61.

— In 1993, Jim Hahn guided Concord to its sixth Elkhart sectional championship in nine years. Leading the Minutemen were Johnny Moore, Corey Hadley, Fred McCarey, Tyler Davis, Jon Standish and Brent Hoober.

— The Lakeland Lakers, coached by the late Tim Sirk in 2003, won a Class 3A sectional behind the talents of Evan Long, Adam James, Tony Bontrager, Jon Workman and Brett Bateman.

— Who will be the spotlight teams of 2013? We are about to find out.