Goshen News, Goshen, IN

February 2, 2014

PREP WRESTLING: Chargers make it a sectional three-peat

Goshen News

---- — ELKHART — The Elkhart Memorial Crimson Chargers built a lead in the early rounds and five wins in championship matches didn’t slow them down in a quest for a third straight IHSAA sectional championship.

The Chargers totaled 237 1/2 points Saturday at Memorial. Goshen was second at 200, followed by Elkhart Central 162 1/2, Northridge 158 1/2, Jimtown 146, Fairfield 118, NorthWood 112 and Concord 62.

“We told the guys going into the final round it was ours to win,” Memorial coach Jim Iannarelli said. “The kids wrestled exceptional. We got seven guys into the championship matches and are sending 12 to the regional. You can’t ask for much more.”

The top four finishers in each weight class advance to next Saturday’s regional at Goshen.

Iannarelli didn’t let the cancellation of the NLC tournament nor the recent terrible weather conditions bother his wrestlers.

“There were days when we didn’t know if we were going to be able to practice or not,” the coach said. “But I did everything I could to make sure we got as much practice time in that we could. One day I went and picked up three of the kids so they could practice.

“The guys were told this week was about getting to a better place. By that I mean getting to regional, then semistate and then the ultimate goal of state.”

Winning individual title for Memorial were junior Anthony Vaughn (20-5 record) at 126 pounds, sophomore Nate Ritchie (13-3) at 160, senior Jon Osoria (19-8) at 170, freshman David Eli (22-7) at 182 and senior Tieshawn Johnson (31-0) at 195.

Junior Tevis McDonald has the fastest fall in the third round (:14) at 285 pounds.

Goshen senior Scotty Huff (32-3) won the championship at 113. Senior Jaron Katzer (106), junior Joel Byler (132), senior John Trenshaw (170), senior Evan Smith (182), sophomore Derek Paz (220) and freshman Jose Montanez (285) finished second for the Redskins.

Northridge had two champions with senior Jon Yoder winning at 138 and classmate Ryan Baxter at 145.

Yoder has a 24-4 record after posting a 5-2 decision over Zeke Torres of Central in the finale.

“The match turned on a fireman’s take down in the second period that put me in the lead,” Yoder said. “I use the fireman’s carry a lot. It’s easy to do and generally gets your opponent on his back.”

It’s Yoder’s first sectional title.

“It feels great, but it’s really hard to believe I’m the champion,” he said. “My goal was to get to the championship round.”

Baxter is a noteworthy 26-1 after a 12-2 major decision over freshman Garrett Griffen of NorthWood in the finale.

“We’ve wrestled two other times and the matches have been closer,” Baxter said. “My getting over the fear of being taken down and scored upon is why today’s match was different.”

This is Baxter’s first sectional title.

Fairfield had a pair of brothers win championships. Sophomore Blake Glogouski won at 106 and senior Forrest Glogouski at 120.

Blake Glogouski is a sparkling 34-2 after he pinned Katzer in 1:30 in the finale.

“I had not faced Katzer before,” Blake said. “It’s better to wrestle an opponent you are familiar with. Keys were pushing and going fast.”

Blake Glogouski is a two-time sectional champion. He notched the quickest pin (:14) in the second round.

Forrest Glogouski (34-1) is a four-time sectional champ after he recorded an 8-4 decision over Concord senior DeLawerence Gayfield (30-1) in the finale.

“The last time we wrestled was in the sectional last season,” Forrest said. “He has improved quite a bit and was unbeaten going into the championship.

“Winning today was great, but it’s not the ultimate goal. That is state. Today was just the first step.”

Jimtown senior Cameron Weiss (152) had the fastest fall in the opening round (:33).

Sectional Summary

106 Pounds

First Place — Blake Glogouski (Fairfield) pinned Jaron Katzer (Goshen) 1:30.

Third Place — Johnny Attkinsson (Elkhart Memorial) pinned Chaz Boyd (Elkhart Central) 1:51.

Fifth Place — Noah Miles (Northridge) pinned Kendrick Steensma (NorthWood) 1::07.

113 Pounds

First Place — Scotty Huff (Goshen) pinned Eugene Moody Neukom (Elkhart Memorial) 3:45.

Third Place — Emanuel Olvera (NorthWood) dec. Jake Egnor (Elkhart Central) 10-6.

Fifth Place — Jaylyn Yoder (Fairfield) pinned Brody Erb (Northridge) 2:11.

120 Pounds

First Place — Forrest Glogouski (Fairfield) dec. DeLawerence Gayfield (Concord) 8-4.

Third Place — Marcus Mejia (Elkhart Memorial) major dec. Logan Maynard (Goshen) 10-4.

Fifth Place — Mason Cross (Northridge) dec. Greden Kelley (Jimtown) 9-3.

126 Pounds

First Place — Tony Vaughn (Elkhart Memorial) dec. Jay Franko (Jimtown) 5-2.

Third Place — Trevor Yoder (Fairfield) pinned Mr Wilcher (Goshen) 2:53.

Fifth Place — John Schlabach (Northridge) dec. Jamal Scott (Elkhart Central) 3-2.

132 Pounds

First Place — Konner Chafin (Jimtown) pinned Joel Byler (Goshen) 3:09.

Third Place — Blake Corpe (Elkhart Memorial) pinned Chris Howe (Northridge) 1:09.

Fifth Place — Nick Quarandiillo (Elkhart Central) pinned Ryan Price (NorthWood) 2:50.

138 Pounds

First Place — Jon Yoder (Northridge) dec. Zeke Torres (Elkhart Central) 5-2.

Third Place — Kenny Kerrn (Jimtown) dec. Phillip Mathiak (Elkhart Memorial) 9-8.

Fifth Place — Josh Chupp (NorthWood) dec. Josh Bustos (Goshen) 7-2.

145 Pounds

First Place — Ryan Baxter (Northridge) major dec. Garrett Griffen (NorthWood) 3-2.

Third Place — Marquis Schieber (Jimtown) pinned Victor Flores (Goshen) 3:05.

Fifth Place — Ronnie Longbrake (Elkhart Memorial) dec. Austin Crimi (Elkhart Central) 6-0.

152 Pounds

First Place — Cameron Weiss (Jimtown) dec. Chris Morris (Elkhart Memorial) 9-5.

Third Place — Anthony Hardman (Elkhart Central) dec. Leandro Rodriguez (Concord) 8-7.

Fifth Place — Nick Maher (Northridge) dec. Jacob Curry (Fairfield) 11-6.

160 Pounds

First Place — Nick Ritchie (Elkhart Memorial) major dec. Derek Weldy (NorthWood) 9-0.

Third Place — Austin Turner (Fairfield) major dec. Brody Miller (Northridge) 11-2.

Fifth Place — Dalton Heintzberger (Jimtown) pinned Pablo Carreon (Elkhart Central) 3:14.

170 Pounds

First Place — Jon Osoria (Elkhart Memorial) dec. John Trenshaw (Goshen) 8-2.

Third Place — Dylan Swank (Northridge) def. Alex Troup (Jimtown) 802.

Fifth Place — Kane Rohrer (Fairfield) dec. Gage Mosiman (Elkhart Central) 6-4.

182 Pounds

First Place — David Eli (Elkhart Memorial) dec. Evan Smith (Goshen) 9-3.

Third Place — Logan Bontrager (Northridge) injury default Michael Rockenbaugh (Concord).

Fifth Place — Jared Tucker (Elkhart Central) pinned Caleb Fowler (Jimtown) 2:49.

195 Pounds

First Place — Tieshawn Johnson (Elkhart Memorial) technical fall Michael Leonard (NorthWood) 4:32.

Third Place — Ramiro Hernandez (Goshen) dec. Jesus Nunez (Elkhart Central) 7-1.

Fifth Place — Carlos Jiminez (Concord) pinned Dalton Haab (Fairfield) 4:21.

220 Pounds

First Place — Eliseo Guerra (Elkhart Central) dec. Derek Paz (Goshen) 3-1.

Third Place — Isaac Zickafoose (Northridge) pinned Hector Villegas (Concord) 9-2,

Fifth Place — Zach BeMiller (NorthWood) pinned Brayden Bontrager (Fairfield) :39.

285 Pounds

First Place — Issac Barrios (Elkhart Central) pinned Jose Montanez (Goshen) 3:15.

Third Place — Nick Mammolenti (Jimtown) dec. Travis McDonald (Elkhart Memorial) 5-2.

Fifth Place — Alex Cater (NorthWood) pinned Jacob Landes (Fairfield) :40.