Goshen News, Goshen, IN

December 22, 2012

Who voted, ‘No’ to the lottery?

— Which Indiana counties voted “No” in the 1988 referendum to allow the lottery and other forms of gambling in the state? I asked this question in an October letter to the editor in The Goshen News and nobody responded.

The answer: Elkhart, Kosciusko, Wabash, Huntington, Wells and Adams.

If you travel south from the Michigan state line on either Ind. 13 or Ind. 15 to the Wabash River, you will have traveled through half of the half dozen counties that voted, “No.” Continue south from the Wabash River to Ind. 124 and then east to the Ohio state line and now you will have traveled through all the counties that voted, “No” in 1988,

— Ralph Spelbring