Goshen News, Goshen, IN

January 6, 2014

Governor declares state of emergency for Elkhart County



Gov. Mike Pence has declared a state of emergency for 29 Indiana counties hit hard by snow and Arctic temperatures.

Pence says the state will continue to respond to the storm and evaluate its impact on other counties. Some places in Indiana received more than a foot of snow Sunday and temperatures dropped well below zero throughout much of Indiana on Monday, giving the state its coldest temperatures in two decades.

Emergency declarations are necessary to qualify for federal assistance.

The counties included in the declaration are: Clinton, Delaware, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, Rush, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, White, and Whitley.