Goshen News, Goshen, IN

June 10, 2013

Humane Society elects new board members, honors volunteer vet


— BRISTOL — The Humane Society of Elkhart County announced the election of new officers and members of the Board of Directors at its annual meeting May 22.

Newly elected members include Lisa Gilkey Schoetzow, Whitney Nickle to the board of directors and Kathy Sears to the board development committee. The board development committee helps select new members of the board of directors based on the boards current professional background needs.

In addition, Eileen Corson was elected vice president and Jennifer King and Kori Schmidtendorff were re-elected as members of the Board of Directors. The new members join board president Stephanie Krol, board treasurer Julia Stauffer, board secretary Bernice Simms, Todd Eads, Chad Crabtree, Dina Harris and Mat Davis on the board of directors.

“We are excited about the professional growth of our board of directors and board development committee,” Krol said. “All of these strong professionals bring a wide arrangement of talents and skills needed to help further advance the Humane Society of Elkhart County’s mission. I’m proud to lead one of the most energized and talented nonprofit board of directors in northern Indiana.”

The Humane Society of Elkhart County recently received a Torch Award from the Better Business Bureau of Indiana for its management and leadership. The Humane Society was one of three nonprofits in the entire state to receive the honor.

About the board

Corson was elected vice president of the Board. She is employed as an English teacher at Elkhart Memorial High School.

Nickle was elected to fill a Board of Directors position. She has extensive nonprofit experience working with the United Way of St. Joseph County since 2011, plus the American Cancer Society of Mishawaka and the Center for the Homeless.

Sears was elected to fill a Board Development Committee position. Sears serves at Mutual Bank as vice president of business banking.

Gilkey was elected to fill a Board of Directors position. Gilkey is an attorney with Thorne Grodnik LLP, and brings her legal expertise and knowledge of corporate documents to the board of directors.

Also announced at the Humane Society’s annual meeting were various awards, including the Volunteer of the Year Award. Dr. Amanda Havens, a veterinarian, was honored as the Volunteer of the Year.

“Given her full-time career as an emergency veterinarian,” Humane Society officials said, “she has served above and beyond as our volunteer veterinarian adviser. She provides her counsel and services free of charge including administering the rabies vaccinations to shelter animals.”

According to Humane Society of Elkhart County executive director, Anne Reel, “Dr. Havens is a great support to the Humane Society, providing staff with learning experiences and being an advocate to promote animal welfare.”

To learn more about board of director commitments or volunteer opportunities, call the shelter at 574-848-4225.

The Humane Society’s website is www.elkharthumanesociety.org.